Moment of Truth

Do you remember that time when you faced a “moment of truth” and you really didn’t know how it was going to turn out?  Most of us can immediately recall one.  I certainly remember mine.

There we were, my first “girl-boy” party in the 7th grade.  I was so nervous, I couldn’t sit still in the car as my mother drove me to the house where my friend Danna’s birthday was ground zero.  It wasn’t long before the “spin the bottle game” was announced (I really think if Danna hadn’t told me it was happening, I would have been able to sleep much better in the weeks approaching this dreadful day).   The instructions were given “ the pointy end faces you when the bottle stops spinning, you gotta pick someone to walk around the outside of the house together.”
It didn’t tLife Saverake long.  Jerry (name changed to protect the innocent) chose me, and around the house we went.  As we approached the back fence, that moment of
truth happened.  Would I kiss him or would I not? Thankfully there was a set of post-hole diggers behind me to receive his advance when I ducked!  Whew! That was a close one!  But I knew, the day would be coming again where I couldn’t duck growing up.  I would face this moment of truth again some day.

It’s kind of that way when we come to the moment of truth about trusting God.  Sure, we might believe that He is God, that He loves people, that He wants the best for all of us in general.  But when it comes to believing in faith that He intends these truths for me, I start wiggling in my seat again.

It’s not surprising that in the Psalms we read 33 times about the truth of God, and nearly every single time the writer is referring to truth as one of the attributes of God’s character.  It is here that God’s truth is linked with His lovingkindness, and His righteousness.  And it is also here that I soon discover, this “moment of truth” has success written all over it!  Because His truth doesn’t depend one bit on me, it’s all His.  I can receive His truth, His lovingkindness, and His righteousness, because He decided to give it to me!  Doubting and fear ends, and believing begins.

The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him in truth. Psalm 145:18

Lead me in Your truth and teach me, for You are the God of my salvation; for You I wait all the day.  Psalm 25:5

You, O Lord, will not withhold Your compassion from me; Your lovingkindness and Your truth will continually preserve me.  Psalm 40:11

Lovingkindness and truth have met together; Righteousness and peace have kissed each other.   Psalm 85:10

Today, commit with me that we will no longer face our moments of truth with fear and doubt, but will believe in faith that the One who IS TRUTH, will bring it to pass.

About the Writer:
Pam Brewer is Director of Women to Women Ministry of First Baptist Dallas, a wife, a mom, a grandmother, and grateful to be included in this great team of Yada Yada writers.

Leave a Reply

