The Healing of God

 

I was struggling with burn out in my professional life along with health issues in my physical life when I haHope of God Pictured an unfortunate (or perhaps fortunate) accident at home and shattered my right arm.  Through two surgeries and a year of physical therapy God healed my shattered arm, but that was only the beginning of the healing that God wanted to do in my life.

During the year of recovery from the accident, I had time to focus on what God wanted for my life versus my own desires.  I realized how short life is and wanted to help make a difference in the lives of others  rather than continuing a career.  About the time that my arm was healed, God allowed me to be laid off from my job so true healing could begin.

Almost three years have passed and as I look back, I understand with awe and wonder what God has done in my life during that time.  As I have been obedient to His leading and have chosen His path rather than my own, not only has He blessed me financially, He has healed my physical body and has allowed me to be a witness to what He is doing in our midst.

When I broke my arm I was on a long list of prescription medications, I had terrible allergies, and was extremely overweight.  In the past three years I have been able to focus on my physical health, being obedient to God’s leading in that area, and I am now in much better physical condition to do the work He has called me to do.  I take only one prescription medication a day and the dose is one fourth of what it was previously. I have lost the weight that needed to go and have established a more consistent healthy exercise routine.

One of my life verses says:

For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29:11

This verse does not necessarily talk about healing, but when we submit to His plan for our lives, healing we never imagined can take place giving us hope and a future.

About the writer:
Anna leads the W.E. C.A.R.E. team for the Women’s Ministry of First Baptist Dallas.  She is a widow, a mom, a grandmother, and grateful to the Lord for giving her opportunities to share with other women in several ministries through First Baptist Dallas.

 

Leave a Reply

