Praying for a Miracle

prayingforamiracleI was down on my knees praying and asking God for a miracle. I was begging God to heal my friend, even though the doctors offered no hope.

I found myself heartbroken like this twice last year.  I knew of two young women, both boldly fighting cancer with everything they had.  Both were living good lives as daughters, sisters, wives, mothers, and friends to all. They had young children, which hit too close to home for me.  It hurt my heart to read updates about their fight for life.  Both of these ladies were strong in their faith and surrendered every step of their journey to God.  Prayers from all corners of the globe were being lifted up for both women.

In the last days of their lives, I prayed for a miracle. I prayed for God to heal them and prove the doctors wrong.  I prayed.  I prayed on my knees with tears streaming down and begged for a miracle.  My faith grew, and I hoped they would be healed.  As I prayed, a phrase from a mentor of mine kept coming to mind- “And even if He doesn’t, I will praise Him.”

Both amazing women finished their journey.  My words cannot describe how well they ran their race and finished their fight.  They ran with grace and complete submission to God’s will.  They were strong, bold, courageous, loving, and bright shining lights in the darkness.  Both of their stories continue to move in the hearts of all who knew them and many who did not.

I was not only heartbroken, I was a little mad and confused.  I felt an overwhelming amount of guilt since I was here, but they were not.  Suddenly, raising my boys meant more to me than ever. I felt like I had to be a better mom, wife, friend, and person because I have today.  My mentor told me to take my guilt and turn it into gratitude. The guilt was tearing me down, but gratitude builds me up.  Once I did that, each new day was a blessing, and I was continually thanking Him.

Bless the Lord, O my soul,
     And forget none of His benefits;
  Who pardons all your iniquities,
     Who heals all your diseases,
 Who redeems your life from the pit
     Who crowns you with lovingkindness and compassion.  Ps. 103:2-4

I was praying for healing, and God did answer my prayer.  He healed both women, better than any doctors ever could.  They did not lose their fight; with God they won the battle.  God is sovereign, powerful, good, loving, and the ultimate healer.  No matter the outcome of life, I will praise Him.

About the writer:
Meghan is a former art teacher who feels blessed to now be a stay-at-home mom to her two boys.  She loves volunteering at her sons’ school and with the First Baptist Dallas Women’s Ministry and First Impressions Team.  She is passionate about art, cooking, working out, and playing volleyball.

Leave a Reply

