Rewards in Heaven

crown_000001I can always use a little motivation to get me going!  And the Bible supplies some great motivation for me to do the good works God has prepared beforehand (Ephesians 2:10).  Here are some verses that point to the rewards in heaven for what we do here on earth:

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith; in the future there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day; and not only to me, but also to all who have loved His appearing.  2 Timothy 4:7-8

And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive the unfading crown of glory.   I Peter 5:4 

Blessed is a man who perseveres under trial; for once he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life which the Lord has promised to those who love Him.  James 1:12

We will receive crowns as rewards.  What joy!  What sweet motivation to be recognized for our faithfulness!  What will we do with those crowns?  We see a glimpse of what we will do in Revelation 4:10 “the twenty-four elders will fall down before Him who sits on the throne, and will worship Him who lives forever and ever, and will cast their crowns before the throne. . . . ”

You see, heaven is a place of great reward.  It is a place where every tear will be wiped away (Revelation 21:4).  But all the rewards we will receive pale in comparison to the glory of Jesus and seeing Him as He is (1 John 3:2).  What assurance it is to know that my Jesus is greater than any reward I could ever receive.  He is worthy to receive glory and honor and power.  For He created all things and because of his will they existed and were created (Revelation 4:11).  He rescued me from sin and is my all.

About the writer:
Caroline is a wife and mom who loves Jesus.  She also has a career in commercial real estate investing.  God has given her a heart for encouraging other women.  She and her husband, Eric, are the directors of the Fellowship Class, a young married Sunday School class, at First Baptist Dallas.

Leave a Reply

