My Refuge, My Fortress

To dwell is to inhabit as a permanent resident, to keep the attention directed on one place. This word perfectly describes my heart’s daily desire. Though my heart wants to abide in His Word, His presence and His will each day, the struggle to do so is real. With three kids who demand much attention, my heart’s desire is often times squelched by screaming voices, chiming phones, and a to do list much longer than the day can accommodate.Dwell

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. Psalm 91:

Dwelling in a shelter is offered to me each day and abiding in the shadow of the Almighty provides relief that can only come from one place of refuge, one fortress, our heavenly Father. Do I wake up each day thinking, “I get to abide in Him today,” or “Man, I’m giving all of my attention to the Lord today!” No, let’s be real, I’m usually awakened by a sippy cup hitting my head or a small person crawling onto me with a wet diaper. Those days when I do sleep until the alarm goes off first, my feet don’t just bound from bed. I often feel worn out before I even start. And when I awake worn out, why am I not seeking My Refuge instantly? Why am I not standing in the shadow of the Almighty right out of the gate?

As women we must be conscious of where we dwell, moment by moment. We must take note of where we find refuge.  Are we finding validation and strength from the perfect picture of the kids posted to Facebook? Are we seeking refuge at the coffee shop with other women as we compare our lives to others? Or, are we seeking Him, daily, moment by moment and dwelling in His Word and everlasting love?

When times get tough late in the day, or you wake up exhausted simply because the season of your life right now, remember and remind one another to dwell in the Lord. Encourage each other to have some quiet time with the Lord today. Point one another to Christ, who is the source of our strength. Stand in the gap with one another as we dwell in the shelter of the Most High.

Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.
Psalm 23:6

About the Author:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and mom of three kids with autism. She is a member of First Baptist Dallas and enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family or at a quiet dinner with girlfriends. Tamie is passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Leave a Reply

