Constancy of God in My Life

When I think about God’s constancy in my life, not going to lie, I get a little queasy. I say “queasy” because I think about all the changes I have had to go through in my life up to this point. You see, I hate, loathe, and despise change. If you’ve got a good thing going for you, why on earth would you want to change it? I can just imlove of Godagine the Lord thinking to Himself something like this whenever I start throwing a temper tantrum because things are starting to change again: “Sweet Anna, bless her HEART. Has she not learned that change is a part of life yet and that I never leave her to cope on her own?!”
I’m the girl who as a small child would ask my mom what we had planned for the next day because I needed to prepare myself beforehand (or make a better suggestion if I didn’t like that plan, duh). So you can see that God has had His work cut out for Himself from the beginning when it comes to my stubborn ways. Growing up as a pastor’s kid, I moved often with my family, as in 4 major moves in 8 years. You can imagine that the Lord and I have had some words over these slight changes of what I think would be the best plan over the years. It wasn’t really until this last move to Dallas from Atlanta that I allowed God to pry apart the tight grasp I was trying to maintain on my life. Through a Christian non-fiction book called Let’s All Be Brave by Annie F. Downs (I highly recommend it because it’s hilarious and will make you “ugly cry” in a good way), God showed me that, no matter where I go or what path He leads me down, HE is the constancy that I crave, not the absence of all change. Change is inevitable, y’all. We live in a fallen world that we do not control.  But GOD-He is able to do immeasurably more! (Ephesians 3:20) He promises us this amazing truth to hold tightly,

And lo, I am with you ALWAYS, even to the end of the age.  Matthew 28:20b.

I don’t always have to like the changes God allows in my life, but I know that I can always lean into the presence of the God who never ever changes and who will never ever leave me. I’ll leave you with this amazing quote from Annie’s book that really resonated and has stuck with me: “When God tells you to be brave, he will make it work. It won’t be perfect. It won’t be easy. But it will be your story and your best story.”

About the Writer:
Anna is a coffee-holic and is always on the hunt for a new coffee shop to try in Big D. When not working at First Dallas as the Administrative Assistant to Young Marrieds, College, and Singles Ministries, you can find her snort-laughing with friends, watching Gilmore Girls for the umpteenth time (Team Luke!) or studying to finish up her undergraduate degree at Liberty University Online. She has a passion for Orphan Advocacy and Youth Ministry, hoping one day to unite those two passions for the glory of God’s Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

