Constancy of God

Women aren’t the only ones to desire security. Coming home from work, when I look into the eyes of my young daughter as she welcomes me, I see it in her eyes too. She also desires her world to be filled with people that won’t leave, that always come back to her, that will always love her even when she is sick, fussy or misbehaving. It is a God-given need.

 Thirsty? Drink. Hungry? Eat. Exhausted? Rest. Feel insecure? We come to a need that cannot be met apart fromLoneliness God. Of course, I am very aware that physical needs are not always met so simply; but even more so the deep emotional needs of knowing we are loved, accepted, taken care of, watched out for, and being led to a vision greater than ourselves reveal a void that cannot be filled by any thing or person besides God Himself.

In my own life, loneliness has been an ongoing burden. Having just turned 16, I left my family to serve the Lord as a missionary in a foreign country. I have been stranded, detained, sick, lost, and fearful for my life many times with no physical presence beside me. Not all of my loneliness has come from honorable choices to follow the Lord. Some loneliness has come from my own foolishness and poor choices. I gave birth to my daughter with one of the more encouraging portions from Lamentations 3 in my pocket. But amidst the sadness that we all suffer when we feel alone, the greatest comfort to me has been the promises of God found in Psalm 23.

 The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You have anointed my head with oil; My cup overflows. Surely goodness and lovingkindness will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. Psalm 23

 I wish I could say that I never feel lonely, for I still do. However, at times of greatest need I know the greatest blessing of the constancy of God. He is the same Shepherd yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Such constancy could not be replaced or replicated even in the most “perfect” circumstances; the blessing I have been given in the security of my God is more solid than even the most loving friend, parent or spouse.

About the Writer:
Lyndsay has been many things in her past, but no career, experience, or calling define her more than the desire to follow after Christ in response to His gracious work in her life. At present, she teaches movement classes and works as a wellness consultant in addition to loving her amazing husband and raising her daughter to know and love the Lord.

Leave a Reply

