You Are Not Alone

Growing up, I moved around many times. By 4th grade, I was entering my 5th elementary school. I had moved three times in five months my junior year, went to three different high schools, had said goodbye to step-dads numbers 5 and 6, and had been married and divorced, with a baby, by the time I graduated.

Not long after I divorced, my son and I ended up homeless. I felt I had no other choice than to let my son go live with his dad, never imagining that I would lose all rights to him. I had experienced a great deal of loss by this time in my life, but nothing compared to this. I had wanted a baby, someone permanent to love, who would love me back. When I lost him, I felt completely alone. It was the greatest sadness I had ever felt – a sadness I was not equipped for, not just the pain of a broken heart, but the great emptiness. It was the kind of sadness that took control of my whole body. I was over a thousand miles away from my family and felt completely alone.

love-godAnd then God spoke,  “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you.” (John 14:18)  I’ve heard people say Christians just need a crutch, and that’s why they believe in God. I had several crutches: heroine, meth, cigarettes, shopping… We all have crutches. But crutches don’t have the power to save, only God does.

I was on my way home from St. Louis, headed back to Louisville, KY, when I totaled my car. I was so high, I barely remember climbing out of the passenger side window. I spent the next several weeks in jail, somewhere in Illinois. But God knew exactly what He was doing, because in that moment of desperation, with nowhere else to look, I turned to God. I just wanted God to get me out of jail, but he had other plans.

Sitting in a recreation room, inside that jail, somewhere in Illinois, some man, whose name I can’t remember, told me that Jesus loves me. The power of that truth was like water to my soul. To know that I wasn’t alone, that there was One who still loved me, especially after all I had done, pierced my heart.

. . . I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. Ezekiel 36:26

I am the way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through Me. . . . He who has seen Me has seen the Father. . . . I am in the Father and the Father is in Me. . . . John 14:6, 9b, 11a

Only God Can give you peace, heal your hurts, and give you a new heart. The only ones who will be with Him for all eternity to adore and worship Him will be those who accept Him as their Savior while they are still alive in this world. Accepting Jesus as Savior comes when we BELIEVE in Him. This means that we put our total faith and trust in Him to forgive our sins and to give us eternal life.  You will never be the same once you welcome the beautiful, loving, perfect, holy Son of God into your life.

 About the Writer:
Brandi likes to show God’s love by helping those in need. Since becoming a believer at 22, she has enjoyed working with troubled children, teens, and their families. She loves her grown son, enjoys working with those in recovery, and likes spending as much time as possible outdoors.

If you would like to put your faith in Jesus and want to know more, please contact the Women’s Ministry at First Baptist Church of Dallas, Texas, at firstdallas.women@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

