Undeserved Kindness

So often we tmercy Handshink of mercy as synonymous with kindness, when in actuality mercy is really undeserved kindness, compassion, or forgiveness. Undeserved, not worthy of, mercy is something we want from others in our time of need; but seem to cling tightly to when it’s our turn to give it away.  Mercy is not a quality I possess without immense conviction and purposeful action. I struggle daily.  I know the Lord knew this about be when He blessed me almost 15 years ago with my daughter.  Little did I know then how that little baby would minister to me in ways I would have never imagined.  My daughter has a heart so big it often times blows my mind.  She was diagnosed with autism, specifically Asperger’s, when she was only five years old. I knew early on she was different, but I had no idea how. If you met her today, you’d be shocked to think at one point this beautiful child ever struggled at all; or even still does.

Having struggled as a young girl with friend relationships, I knew how mean girls could be. I remembered all to well because I used to be that mean girl when I was her age. Now watching her endure the trials of junior high often brings me to tears. It is amazing to observe her actions with others and her mercy often astounds me, loving others irregardless of how they treat her.  She truly loves them in the way Christ has called us to love, forgiving so quickly with mercy flowing out of her towards her peers. Not only does she display mercy with others, but she displays unconditional love for me every time I loose my patience, or yell in frustration. Mercy shows up every time; her undeserved kindness shining through with daily forgiveness.

I am reminded of how so many times throughout my life I didn’t deserve the mercy received from Our Father. There is nothing I can do or bring to the Lord in return for my salvation. He came to die for me and showed undeserved kindness while I was still a sinner. Christ paid it all, redeemed me from the eternal death and punishment I deserve.

Be gracious to me, O God, according to your lovingkindness; According to the greatness of Your compassion blot out my transgressions.  Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity and cleanse me from my sin. Psalm 51:1-2

Why do we seldom show others the same mercy we so desire?  Give that person in your life who might not deserve forgiveness the undeserved mercy that Christ has given you. Extend grace and show mercy. Forgiveness is good for all.

About the writer:
Tamie is a stay at home wife and the mom of three kids with autism. She is a member of First Baptist Dallas who enjoys spending time hanging out at home with her family or a quiet dinner with girlfriends. Tamie is passionate about encouraging other woman in their daily walk with the Lord.

Leave a Reply

