Time To Clean Sweep

One of the things I love to do over any break I have is to clean sweep my house.  I love to go through all the rooms, look through every drawer, closet, or space, and get rid of the things that I don’t need any more or that I don’t use.  Afterwards I have such a renewed feeling because I’ve gotten rid of things that don’t serve a purpose for my house anymore.

In the same sense, over a small break I had I reflected on what is in my heart and asked God to reveal to me the things that don’t reflect Him.  I want to get rid of the things that don’t serve a good purpose anymore. 

God has revealed to me that I worry about things too much.  Anyone else out there dealing with the same issue?  God says in Romans 12:25, “do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on.  Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?”  Being a girl, sometimes I do literally worry about what I will need to wear to an event and if I have the right outfit for a certain occasion.  But living in America, I don’t really have to worry about having enough food to eat or clothes to wear like in other countries. 

What I get bogged down about is the stress of life.  Sometimes I am overwhelmed with everything that I need to do and the small amount of time that I have to get them done.  When we look further in this passage we see in verse 33, “But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will care for itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.” 

I appreciate how God acknowledges that each day has enough trouble of its own.  He knows what we face every day because when we’re His children, we have His Holy Spirit to guide and direct us.  When I focus on my problems and what isn’t going right, I can get lost in my problems.  God has shown me in His Word where I need to do a better job.  I need to seek God first and seek Him with all my heart.  When I fill my heart and mind with Him and His Word, I have a better attitude and can see things the way He does.  My troubles don’t seem to be as big anymore. 

Romans 12:2 says, “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.”  Renewing my mind in Scripture helps me to see what God wants me to do and to see His goodness in all things. 

We live in a world that relies on itself and the pleasures it brings.  We all know that that doesn’t produce lasting results and doesn’t help when you face problems.  By spending time with God and remembering who He is, I’m reminded of how big my God is and how small my problems really are.  May we continue to pursue God so we can show the world who He truly is.  Romans 15:13 says, “Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”  Spending time with Jesus will always be something that I keep doing.  Let’s get rid of the anxiety and insecurity we have in our hearts and replace it with the joy of the Lord who is our strength and ever present help in any trouble we may face.

About the Writer

Alana faithfully serves at her church home, First Baptist Dallas, where she enjoys using her talents and gifts to help others grow in Christ.  She taught elementary music in public schools for twenty years.  Alana is married to Mike, and they have a cute mini golden doodle puppy named Bentley and a mini labradoodle named Bradley.

Leave a comment